Tags

,

Sun is out, daffodils and primroses are flowering, and this morning I’ve seen the first swallow back for the summer – it’s beginning to look a lot like spring…

In fact it must be spring because this week is National Gardening Week, an annual event organised by the RHS to encourage everyone to get out in their gardens and get growing.  One of the main themes of this year’s week is growing wildflowers and gardening for wildlife.  And to help gardeners do this, the RHS and Mr Fothergill’s have sent out thousands of free packets of wildflower seeds.  I was lucky enough to receive one of these packets – a mix of annual, biennial and perennial wildflowers that should add colour to a patch of the garden and draw in pollinators.

Seeds

Now, you might have noticed if you’ve read more than a couple of posts on this blog – I’m quite fond of bees, butterflies and other insects, and am happy to do all I can to entice them into the garden.  So, now that I have my seeds, I’ve found a sunny patch of ground that will be just right for a mini wildflower meadow.

Bee on Knautia arvensisOver the weekend, I dug out the weeds – especially the perennials (more couch grass…), then gently trod the area to settle it and raked the soil to get a fine tilth that will be perfect for seeds.  Today I’m going to find some twiggy cuttings (prickly ones if possible) from the shrubs and trees in the garden to lay over the area once the seeds have been sown.  This will keep the cats and birds (especially the hens) off the newly sown area and should give the seeds a chance to grow without being scratched up or eaten.  Then, in a few months time there should be plenty of these in the garden –

Bee on cornflower

Which wildflowers do you grow?

